PoE

CrossbowMarty
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:34 am

PoE

Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:37 am

HI,

Am new to the forum but have had a bit of a surf around. Was wondering if it would be possible to power a VoCore with PoE?

Has anyone attempted this?


Regards
Marty

Vonger
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: PoE

Fri Oct 23, 2015 11:33 am

Current dock do not allow PoE :)

CrossbowMarty
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:34 am

Re: PoE

Fri Oct 30, 2015 3:23 am

This would seem to me to be a great idea. The VoCore is cheap enough to use on remote sensors and supplying power over the cat5 / cat6 cable lets me power all of these from a single PoE switch. So convenient!

What do you think Forum dwellers? Is there anyone else out there that thinks this is a good idea?

Would it need a new RJ45 socket?

Circuitry for the power should be pretty straightforward.

Vonger
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: PoE

Fri Oct 30, 2015 4:53 pm

Ye, it is a good idea :)
My target is to make it as small as possible, but PoE voltage is so high, have to use big components, I can not make it as small as current dock, so I give it up.
I courage you do it, make one for fun :D

ArkEngr
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 1:58 pm

Re: PoE

Fri Oct 30, 2015 7:31 pm

CC1R5-4803SF-E is as close as I could find. It is 16x16mm and has an input voltage of 36 - 76 volts and puts out 3.3 volts at 400ma. DigiKey sells it.

CrossbowMarty
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 3:34 am

Re: PoE

Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:24 am

Am thinking that simply injecting a lower voltage and doing without all the hassle of PoE might make more sense.

Vonger
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: PoE

Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:23 pm

CrossbowMarty wrote:Am thinking that simply injecting a lower voltage and doing without all the hassle of PoE might make more sense.

VoCore2 has PoE dock.

Return to VoCore & VoCore+dock

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest