Page 1 of 1

OpenWrt syupgrade working with the RT5350/VoCore?

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2016 7:20 pm
by dl9sec
Hi,
does anbody know, if the OpenWrt sysupgrade ist working on a RT5350 based hardware (when the OpenWrt-...-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin is used)?
I tried this with another RT5350 based device similar to the VoCore, but i got the error message: "The uploaded image file does not contain a supported format. Make sure that you choose the generic image format for your platform."

Any ideas? Which binary file to take from the OpenWrt built?

Regards, Thorsten

Re: OpenWrt syupgrade working with the RT5350/VoCore?

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 8:19 am
by Vonger

Re: OpenWrt syupgrade working with the RT5350/VoCore?

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 3:54 pm
by dl9sec
I have a ...suqashfs-sysupgrade-bin image on my device.
Is there a special requirement for the flash size for the sysupgrade feature?
My device has only 4MB (original assembly)...

Regards, Thorsten

Re: OpenWrt syupgrade working with the RT5350/VoCore?

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2016 1:09 pm
by Vonger
dl9sec wrote:I have a ...suqashfs-sysupgrade-bin image on my device.
Is there a special requirement for the flash size for the sysupgrade feature?
My device has only 4MB (original assembly)...

Regards, Thorsten


VoCore is 16MB, not sure if it works on 4MB.

Re: OpenWrt syupgrade working with the RT5350/VoCore?

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:30 pm
by noblepepper
If you build your own I think you can get a working image for a 5350 into 4MB. I can make an image with no extras except Luci for a 7268 in 4M.

You will need to change this part of target/linux/ramips/dts/VOCORE.dts:

Code: Select all
                partition@50000 {
                        label = "firmware";
                        reg = <0x50000 0xfb0000>;
 

so that there is room for the partition to fit in the available flash space. I think 3b0000 is the correct number.

You will also need to change this part of target/linux/ramips/image/Makefile:
Code: Select all
Image/Build/Profile/VOCORE=$(call BuildFirmware/Default8M/$(1),$(1),vocore,VOCORE)

This one is more obvious, the Default8M needs to be Default4M.