Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Greenwire-Elektronik
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:31 am

Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:04 pm

just wondering whether someone tried to make a new openwrt image and load it onto VoCore? I want to include gpio-keys kernel module - someone got experience to share? Vonger, can you perhaps give a brief howto how to do it?

Rgds,

Jonas
Buy now - breakout board for VoCore to easy adapting your idea!

Follow us on Twitter or facebook!

darksoul
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:29 am

Re: Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Sat Dec 06, 2014 2:24 pm

http://o-ak.com/blog/o-ak-tech/openwrt- ... asy-steps/

Step by Step, all tested, all works!

The guide is universal, at the bottom you will find what you need to change for vocode firmware.

Greenwire-Elektronik
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:31 am

Re: Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:25 pm

darksoul wrote:Just did 15 minutes ago.
Do you want me to write a step-by-step guide?


Sure! I tried to enter the patches i found on the blog but the patch failed finding the correct files. In fact i think a step-by-step-guide should be sticky so everyone can see it - you might consider a new topic for it :)
Buy now - breakout board for VoCore to easy adapting your idea!

Follow us on Twitter or facebook!

Ripple
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:04 pm

Re: Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:15 pm

Just a quick question. If I want to install a newer version of OpenWRT on VoCore, what's the correct way to do it? Does OpenWRT website offer a pre-built image for this device like it does for many routers? Is there an Image Builder? Or do I have to cross compile everything myself from source?

Best regards!

darksoul
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:29 am

Re: Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:50 am

Get the latest fresh image here - https://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ramips/openwrt-ramips-rt305x-vocore-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

there are two ways to upgrade, via terminal or luci.

check out the link that i gave earlier there is an example.

Greenwire-Elektronik
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:31 am

Re: Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Wed Dec 10, 2014 5:07 am

darksoul wrote:Get the latest fresh image here - https://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ramips/openwrt-ramips-rt305x-vocore-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

there are two ways to upgrade, via terminal or luci.

check out the link that i gave earlier there is an example.


Thanks!
Buy now - breakout board for VoCore to easy adapting your idea!

Follow us on Twitter or facebook!

earlaker
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:46 am

Re: Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:48 am

That image will brick your VoCore. Trust me, I just did it ;)

charliex
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: los angeles

Re: Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Fri Dec 12, 2014 5:13 am

did it brick it, or just turn off the wifi ? ive used the prebuilt before

User avatar
pcnate
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:35 am
Location: Wisconsin USA

Re: Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:29 am

I installed the image using the web interface using the save config option. It booted fine for me. Only issue is no web interface afterwards, which doesn't bother me as I am uninterested in a web server on anything with less than 100MB ram. I always have the serial connection open anyways.

fmotta
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:34 pm

Re: Anyone had done a new openwrt-image yet?

Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:37 pm

I have built about 20 different images with differing features.

Other than a likelihood that I will have to recover a board (speculatively) because I made the image too large it works great as documented.

Return to VoCore & VoCore+dock

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest