Page 1 of 1

Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:36 am
by Raymond Day
My bother wanted one so I order 2 of them and he just bought his back because it don't get a IP address. I put a RS232 on it. He said he wants it for that.

I seen he had the plug to the 3.3 volt on the RS232. He must of plug it back in wrong. So I put it right.

Can look at the boot up and it stops like this:

Code: Select all
procd: - early -
procd: - watchdog -
procd: - ubus -
procd: - init -
Please press Enter to activate this console.
procd: - init complete -

/sbin/askfirst: Please press Enter to activate this console.

/sbin/askfirst: Please press Enter to activate this console.
[   44.460000] random: nonblocking pool is initialized

/sbin/askfirst: Please press Enter to activate this console.


Is there a way though the RS232 to set it back to like factory default?

I can hit X to go to:

Code: Select all
U-Boot for VoCore(based on RT5350)Warning: un-recognized chip ID, please update bootloader!
.
Version: May 30 2014 20:52:36

Press 'x' to console...

.
VoCore>


Any thing I can do from that to make this work again?

-Raymond Day

Re: Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 1:27 pm
by Raymond Day
So is there a way to restore the VoCore just how they send it out. How do they set it up when they send it out?

-Raymond Day

Re: Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:05 pm
by Raymond Day
Found I link that I guess could restore this thought the RS232. But I just don't get how.

Using putty I can press the x to console real fast. Then I type the loadb and it is waiting for a (kermit) upload to it. I remember that old file upload/download on my old Commodore 64 the old phone modem days. But how would I do it in Putty if that is the way.

The link says "uartlite" is there a link to download that if that is a term that can upload using kermit?

-Raymond Day

Re: Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:32 pm
by Raymond Day
Is there a way to put a SD card in the VoCore with a restore image on it and give it some command on the RS232 to restore it from the SD card?

-Raymond Day

Re: Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:39 pm
by Raymond Day
Hook it up to my Ubuntu server and used minicom. I can pick to upload like this:

Code: Select all
Press the [f] key and hit [enter] to enter failsafe mode
Press the [1], [2], [3] or [4] key and hit [enter] to select the debug level
jffs2 is ready
jffs2 is ready                                                                 .
[   12.610000] jffs2: notice: (318) jffs2_build_xattr_subsystem: complete build
switching to overlay
procd: - early -             +-[Upload]--+
procd: - watchdog -          | zmodem    |
procd: - ubus -              | ymodem    |
procd: - init -              | xmodem    |
Please press Enter to activat| kermit    |e.
procd: - init complete -     | ascii     |
                             +-----------+
                                                                               !
U-Boot for VoCore(based on RT5350)Warning: un-recognized chip ID, please update
.
Version: May 30 2014 20:52:36

Press 'x' to console...

.
VoCore> loadb
## Ready for binary (kermit) download to 0x80100000 at 57600 bps...


I pick the kermit and I all ready downloaded the 16MB .bin file with this command:

Code: Select all
wget http://vonger.cn/upload/vocore16.bin


Then I pick it with space bar. vocore16.bin and press enter for "Okay" but it does nothing just goes back waiting for a upload looks like this:

Code: Select all
VoCore> loadb
## Ready for binary (kermit) download to 0x80100000 at 57600 bps...




Just stays there. I guess the kermit upload don't work right in minicom for Linux.

Any one know what is wrong?

-Raymond Day

Re: Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 7:24 pm
by Raymond Day
Here are 3 photos of it not working so I guess they will help to show how can fix it.

https://goo.gl/photos/SY9QZuK4AgGL9QLp7

https://goo.gl/photos/zNgPepKroRZ1akEh8

https://goo.gl/photos/Pv4TvHAijxqukKQ88

I hope some one can tell me why it don't work. How to get it to work.

It would be good if some one said a Step-by-Step way.

-Raymond Day

Re: Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 11:38 pm
by Raymond Day
Wow what junk that it says use kermit. I just picked bin to test and it started to upload it!

No one could tell me that here. But I guess that's not the right way. Guess the bin file had the right code a way though to say start to download in Kermit way and that's were I started to see the count. But it was not right. I guess some error in the Kermit in minicom.

https://goo.gl/photos/TMHBd4VtzX7n1FVC8

That is a photo of the minicom using bin to send it. After it it shows text like this:

Code: Select all
mdio   - Ralink PHY register R/W command !!
mm      - memory modify (auto-incrementing)
mw      - memory write (fill)
nm      - memory modify (constant address)
printenv- print environment variables
reset   - Perform RESET of the CPU
rf      - read/write rf register
saveenv - save environment variables to persistent storage
setenv  - set environment variables


Got to see what else to do and maybe this will boot now.

Re: Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:14 am
by Raymond Day
It just locked up then and I unplugged the power and it booted up the same way so it don't work. So I got in the Press X again on boot up.

Looks like can ftp it but it will be hard to set LAN to 10.10.10.3 ftp server and the VoCare on that.

I think I can do it with time. But no time now. I will see if I can do it with what I have.

-Raymond Day

Re: Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:03 pm
by Vonger
there is two ways in uboot mode:
1. get a working kermit, then use kermit to upload it.
2. connect it to ethernet, use tftp to upload it.

there is one way in linux mode:

once it start up, it will show log about "failsafe mode", press "F + Enter" then goto failsafe mode and then call firstboot to recover all to normal.

Re: Not booting to get a IP.

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:36 am
by brad
Dude, minicom doesn't work! Vonger has described it here http://vocore.io/wiki/index/id:14 and http://vonger.cn/?p=780
MacOS program he uses is the linux "ckermit". So I give instructions here for ubuntu.

If using ubuntu.
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install ckermit

Code: Select all
sudo kermit

at the prompt:
C-Kermit>

type:
Code: Select all
set line /dev/ttyUSB0
define sz !sz \%0 > /dev/ttyUSB0 < /dev/ttyUSB0
set speed 57600
set carrier-watch off
set prefixing all
set parity none
set stop-bits 1
set modem none
set file type bin
set file name lit
set flow-control none
set prompt “vocore Kermit> ”
connect


turn on vocore and press x to get into boot loader

call 'loadb' to load data through kermit
press CTRL+ '\' then press 'c' to enter kermit command line to send file.

Code: Select all
send <yourfile full directory>


call 'erase linux' to clear current linux section.

call 'cp.linux 3B0004' to flash the firmware from memory to flash.(3B0004 is an example, it should be your firmware size)

Note: if cp.linux size error, please call tftpboot then CTRL + C cancel, then cp.linux again, it should be ok.