Vocore2 only connect to home network (wifi)

Thyvo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 9:55 am

Vocore2 only connect to home network (wifi)

Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:54 pm

Hello,

I'm currently working on a home automation project where the vocore controls (sends and receives) some data from sensors that are connected to it using the GPIO pins.

Unfortunately I'm can't get my vocore to connect to my home network (only to the home network, and disabling the hot-spot functionality)

I tried many of the examples that I can find on the forms as well with some searching thru the openwrt documentation.

Do you have any example code that I could use that only connects to my home wifi?

No need for static IP addresses since the vocore will get them from static entries in my DHCP server.

Below is some of the code I tried and as far as my understanding should work to do the job but unfortunately it did not in my case.

Ps. yes my lab wifi is called test

Code: Select all
uci set wireless.sta.ssid='test'
uci set wireless.sta.key='PassW0rd!'
uci set wireless.sta.encryption='psk2'
uci set wireless.sta.network='lan'
uci set wireless.sta.disabled='0'
uci commit


extra info: the vocore should connect to an ubiquiti AP and my gateway/router is an pfSense box

Kind regards,
Thyvo

KingBeetle
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 6:42 pm

Re: Vocore2 only connect to home network (wifi)

Fri Feb 02, 2018 6:24 am

Here's the commands I used to connect to my WPA2 encrypted WiFi network:

uci set wireless.sta.ssid="Nacho Wireless"
uci set wireless.sta.key="NunyaBizness"
uci set wireless.sta.network=wwan
uci set wireless.sta.disabled=1
uci commit

I don't think it's necessary to specify the encryption method, and I think you should be using wwan and not lan

kokovec
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:03 am

Re: Vocore2 only connect to home network (wifi)

Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:05 am

I keep getting "Invalid Argument" when I try to set the key.
The key does have an underscore in it. Would that be an issue?

Vonger
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: Vocore2 only connect to home network (wifi)

Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:17 am

kokovec wrote:I keep getting "Invalid Argument" when I try to set the key.
The key does have an underscore in it. Would that be an issue?

full log please.

CuriousCat
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:51 pm

Re: Vocore2 only connect to home network (wifi)

Fri Jun 28, 2019 2:02 am

I just tried the same thing and can't get it to work -- that is, connect only as STA and disable the AP.
It connects to another network fine, as long as I run both AP+STA -- but if i try to disable the AP portion, everything breaks.

How can I connect as STA without also running AP?

Vonger
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: Vocore2 only connect to home network (wifi)

Sat Jun 29, 2019 12:24 pm

I see.
Currently the driver do not have pure STA mode, you can use AP+STA mode first then hidden the AP SSID board cast and setup a very complex password to make it like a fake STA mode :)
I am looking into combine mt7628 driver with current open source mt76 driver, then everything will be more smooth.

CuriousCat
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:51 pm

Re: Vocore2 only connect to home network (wifi)

Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:18 pm

Vonger wrote:I am looking into combine mt7628 driver with current open source mt76 driver, then everything will be more smooth.


This sounds great. Do you know when it will be ready?
I love your hardware, but the non-standard wifi drivers really limit its usefulness for me.

Return to VoCore2/Lite/Ultimate

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests