I2S lines on VoCore

eragefe
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 8:30 pm

I2S lines on VoCore

Tue Jun 02, 2015 12:11 am

Does anybody knows how to activate the I2S lines on VoCore?
Not much information about that. I guess some modules have to be compiled/loaded like on RPi.
I would appreciate any kind of help about that.

Thanks BRG

Vonger
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: I2S lines on VoCore

Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:09 am

First, you need to setup some register to enable I2S(check RT5350 datasheet, vonger.cn/upload/RT5350F.pdf)

SYSCTRL: 0x0060, enable I2S pinmux, make it to I2S + GPIO
Then, update 0x0a00, which is I2S control, setup register to I2S master mode, enable PLL(which is for BCLK and LRCLK), then write to TX register, every thing will be done.

I am writing something on my blog about audio and I2S, should be done in this month.

eragefe
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 8:30 pm

Re: I2S lines on VoCore

Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:52 am

Ok Thanks

Cron
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: I2S lines on VoCore

Tue Jun 16, 2015 3:20 pm

Vonger wrote:First, you need to setup some register to enable I2S(check RT5350 datasheet, vonger.cn/upload/RT5350F.pdf)

SYSCTRL: 0x0060, enable I2S pinmux, make it to I2S + GPIO
Then, update 0x0a00, which is I2S control, setup register to I2S master mode, enable PLL(which is for BCLK and LRCLK), then write to TX register, every thing will be done.

I am writing something on my blog about audio and I2S, should be done in this month.


Hi Vonger!

Thank you for the I2S posts on your blog. I've successfully ported an I2S driver from Ralink SDK to OpenWRT and I have a sound, but... The sound is distorted and slowed. Maybe because I don't use a GDMA (I just can't make it work) or whatever the reason. I really hope you will find (already?) a solution! Can't wait for the part 3 of "I2S Sound Card WM8960G". :roll:

Vonger
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: I2S lines on VoCore

Sat Jun 20, 2015 2:55 am

Yes, I will :) I am writing it, and trying to make it easy to understand. :)

Cron wrote:
Vonger wrote:First, you need to setup some register to enable I2S(check RT5350 datasheet, vonger.cn/upload/RT5350F.pdf)

SYSCTRL: 0x0060, enable I2S pinmux, make it to I2S + GPIO
Then, update 0x0a00, which is I2S control, setup register to I2S master mode, enable PLL(which is for BCLK and LRCLK), then write to TX register, every thing will be done.

I am writing something on my blog about audio and I2S, should be done in this month.


Hi Vonger!

Thank you for the I2S posts on your blog. I've successfully ported an I2S driver from Ralink SDK to OpenWRT and I have a sound, but... The sound is distorted and slowed. Maybe because I don't use a GDMA (I just can't make it work) or whatever the reason. I really hope you will find (already?) a solution! Can't wait for the part 3 of "I2S Sound Card WM8960G". :roll:

Cron
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: I2S lines on VoCore

Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:04 pm

Hi Vonger!

I saw your last post about new Dock2 Firmware and OpenWRT built-in I2S/DMA support. It's great and looks very clean... but I found it a bit complicated in some cases. It should perfectly do the job, but only if the codec chip is supported by ALSA, like WM8960, otherwise you're screwed... That's why I loved the raw I2S driver from Ralink's SDK, it works in any case and with all IC's, for example with my TFA9879.

Can you publish your raw I2S/DMA drivers, even they aren't finished please? :roll:

Vonger
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: I2S lines on VoCore

Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:10 am

eragefe wrote:Does anybody knows how to activate the I2S lines on VoCore?
Not much information about that. I guess some modules have to be compiled/loaded like on RPi.
I would appreciate any kind of help about that.

Thanks BRG


Ye, will do it soon. but better to modify from current alsa i2s driver, it is not just i2s but also a lot of software based on ALSA :)

Cron
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 3:00 pm

Re: I2S lines on VoCore

Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:01 pm

Vonger
Yeah sure, ALSA is way better, but when you need to make some "beeps" and you don't have enough skills to make your hardware work with it, a simple access to I2S lines is better than nothing ;)

Vonger
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: I2S lines on VoCore

Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:19 am

Understand :)
We do not have much hands here(hope more hands later), will post a blog about it after vocore2 antenna.

nbmaiti
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:01 am

Re: I2S lines on VoCore

Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:20 pm

Still I'm unable to get to load the drivers.
Using barrier braker git tip
Code: Select all
commit e79c72f42c5e93eaa3247a26352c1448edaa1008
Author: jow <jow@3c298f89-4303-0410-b956-a3cf2f4a3e73>
Date:   Mon Dec 7 16:30:59 2015 +0000

    BB: scripts/feeds: add support for optionally using a full clone of git repositories



With changes as suggested in blog - in link https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5HCBWNiwHrFa0hzMnVWUTRQYW8

Can you please share your working diff for audio dock?

Next
Return to VoCore & VoCore+Dock

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests