Remote debugging using GDB server

marozak
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:22 pm

Remote debugging using GDB server

Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:27 pm

Hello,

I'm facing a problem with remote debugging on VoCore2. My configuration is:

- VoCore2 Ultimate
- Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (on VMvare 12 Player)
- Eclipse IDE for C/C++ Developers - Version: Neon.2 Release (4.6.2)
- toolchain-mipsel_24kec+dsp_gcc-4.8-linaro_uClibc-0.9.33.2

With this configuration I get these errors (step into, step over, step return are disabled in this case - don't know why):
Image

Sometimes it will stay freezed on 57% during launching like here:
Image

I also tried to google it and found the example on this link: http://noblepepper.com/vocorewiki/doku. ... iki:remote
but Noblepepper uses different toolchain build_dir/toolchain-mipsel_24kec+dsp_gcc-4.8-linaro_uClibc-0.9.33.2/gdb-linaro-7.6-2013.05/gdb/gdb than yours recommended. Maybe debugging will work with Nobleppepper toolchain but where did he find this toolchain?

Was anybody successful with debugging?

Vonger
 
Posts: 896
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: Remote debugging using GDB server

Sun Feb 05, 2017 1:44 am

I upload a source to vocore.io/v2, Source/Software, maybe you can compile it there, then gdb might work

noblepepper
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 3:22 pm

Re: Remote debugging using GDB server

Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:05 am

That wiki page was about the original version VoCore so there are some differences to the new VoCore2.

I started revising my wiki in December and it is in bad shape since I never completed the revisions to add VoCore2 but there is some good info in there. The page you reference is part of the set up a development environment section. The first three steps are specific to the original VoCore but luckily all that is already done when you download Vonger's sources.

So:
Skip steps 1, 2 & 3, instead download Vonger's sources, untar them and cd into the directory created.
I hit an error if I compile as is, to fix this I run
Code: Select all
make menuconfig

Find libghoto under Libraries and disable it (press space bar until it looks like this < > not <*> or <M>)

Step 4 is how I build OpenWrt, there are many variations but if you don't already have a preference just use my method.

Step 5 uses the image name for the VoCore original (openwrt-ramips-rt305x-vocore-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin) the image for VoCore2 is named openwrt-ramips-mt7628-vocore2-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

Now Step 6 (the page you were looking at) should work much better.

noblepepper
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 3:22 pm

Re: Remote debugging using GDB server

Sun Feb 05, 2017 1:58 pm

Last night I had troubles with Eclipse, when I put together those instructions (back in 2015) everything worked but things have changed on my system since then and neon doesn't like my java sdk anymore. I uninstalled/reinstalled java and switched to mars and it is happy now. This sort of crap is why I HATE JAVA, if a language can't be minimally compatible between the gobs of versions it has I don't even want to start to learn it! Anyway, if you have trouble try Eclipse Mars. All this has nothing to do with OpenWrt or VoCore, it is Eclipse/Java !@#$%^&*(!!! Eclipse has some great features but I really wish it was based on a workable language instead of the steaming pile of shit that Java is (can you tell I don't care for Java?) Eclipse can also be frustrating and confusing to set up, many options look very similar to other options, make sure you follow the instructions exactly, I just did it and it does work. If things don't look like what I describe back up a few steps and make sure you did it just like the instructions. I wrote the instructions and I have to do that!

Once you get Eclipse working there are a couple more aggravations to deal with. You should really do this before you set up Eclipse but it doesn't matter much except you need to do it before Step 7 (Use Eclipse to connect to VoCore).
1. If you are using a VoCore2 withOUT a sdcard slot you will get an endless stream of
Code: Select all
Sun Feb  5 12:40:36 2017 kern.err kernel: [   34.810000] mmc0: error -22 whilst initialising SDIO card
Sun Feb  5 12:40:36 2017 kern.warn kernel: [   34.840000] mtk-sd 10130000.sdhci: no support for card's volts
on the UART console, to kill this crap you need to hit enter and then
Code: Select all
rmmod mtk-sd

This will come back when you reboot, to prevent this add the rmmod command to /etc/rc.local so it looks like this:
Code: Select all
root@vocore2:/# cat /etc/rc.local
rmmod mtk-sd
uci set wireless.sta.disabled=0
uci commit
/etc/init.d/network restart
sleep 10
uci set wireless.sta.disabled=1
uci commit
# Put your custom commands here that should be executed once
# the system init finished. By default this file does nothing.

exit 0
root@vocore2:/#
Now you will still see the error messages but it will shut up once rc.local kicks in.

2. When you do
Code: Select all
 opkg update
you will get a scary message about a missing repo, it really doesn't hurt anything but to get rid of the message delete the line in /etc/opkg/distfeeds.conf that has "linkit" in it so it looks like this:
Code: Select all
root@vocore2:/# cat /etc/opkg/distfeeds.conf
src/gz chaos_calmer_base http://downloads.openwrt.org/chaos_calmer/15.05.1/ramips/mt7628/packages/base
src/gz chaos_calmer_packages http://downloads.openwrt.org/chaos_calmer/15.05.1/ramips/mt7628/packages/packages
src/gz chaos_calmer_luci http://downloads.openwrt.org/chaos_calmer/15.05.1/ramips/mt7628/packages/luci
# src/gz chaos_calmer_routing http://downloads.openwrt.org/chaos_calmer/15.05.1/ramips/mt7628/packages/routing
# src/gz chaos_calmer_telephony http://downloads.openwrt.org/chaos_calmer/15.05.1/ramips/mt7628/packages/telephony
# src/gz chaos_calmer_management http://downloads.openwrt.org/chaos_calmer/15.05.1/ramips/mt7628/packages/management
root@vocore2:/#


I started the wiki update after my VoCore2 Ultimate shipped and wanted to be sure my changes matched the production units so I stopped. I really need to get the wiki fixed up but that is a different squirrel in a different tree from where I am now. The Ultimate actually showed up last week (>2 months transit, I have sent containers on a freighter and beat that time by alot!) so I will get back to it soon. If you want to sign up and work on the wiki I'll be more than willing to help if you hit trouble.

Return to VoCore2/Lite/Ultimate

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests