Cannot mount ext3 for mount points

GinDiamond
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:02 pm

Cannot mount ext3 for mount points

Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:58 am

Howdy again,

I'm trying to mount an ext3 drive (sd or usb) to create more space for installed programs. On the older versions of the firmware, this wouldn't be a problem. All I'd need to do is format the drive or card as ext3 and then follow the instructions on the luci interface. However, I can't mount drives anymore:

Code: Select all
root@OpenWrt:~# mount /dev/sda1 /tmp/extroot
mount: mounting /dev/sda1 on /tmp/extroot failed: Invalid argument


I tried running
Code: Select all
/proc/filesystems
to see what filesystems the vocore supports, but I get a
Code: Select all
-ash: /proc/filesystems: Permission denied

error.

How can I mount the filesystem on drives again?

***EDIT***

I tried using a different filesystem (fat32) but I get this error now:
Code: Select all
root@OpenWrt:~# tar -C /tmp/introot -cvf - . | tar -C /tmp/extroot -xf -
./
./bin/
tar: can't create symlink './bin/ash' to 'busybox': Operation not permitted
./bin/ash


It seems like the root user doesn't actually have root privileges in openwrt. Whats going on?

GinDiamond
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:02 pm

Re: Cannot mount ext3 for mount points

Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:59 pm

***UPDATE***

I pulled out one of my older VoCore2 Ultimates with 15.05.1 on it and ran cat /proc/filesystems. This is what I got:

Code: Select all
root@OpenWrt:~# cat /proc/filesystems
nodev   sysfs
nodev   rootfs
nodev   ramfs
nodev   bdev
nodev   proc
nodev   tmpfs
nodev   debugfs
nodev   sockfs
nodev   pipefs
nodev   devpts
   squashfs
nodev   jffs2
nodev   overlay
nodev   mtd_inodefs
   exfat
   ext3
   ext2
   ext4
   reiserfs
   hfs
   hfsplus
   ntfs
   vfat
   msdos


I then ran cat /proc/filesystems on the new OpenWrt 01272019 image and got this:

Code: Select all
root@OpenWrt:~# cat /proc/filesystems
nodev   sysfs
nodev   rootfs
nodev   ramfs
nodev   bdev
nodev   proc
nodev   tmpfs
nodev   debugfs
nodev   sockfs
nodev   bpf
nodev   pipefs
nodev   devpts
   squashfs
nodev   jffs2
nodev   overlay
   vfat


How do I enable all the other filesystems so I can use mount points again?

ArkEngr
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 1:58 pm

Re: Cannot mount ext3 for mount points

Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:14 pm

I found not all of the /lib files were present either. I bet we need to recompile and add a few more options to the configuration.

GinDiamond
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:02 pm

Re: Cannot mount ext3 for mount points

Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:22 pm

Thats what I'm thinking. I'm experimenting right now with scripts packages and different make menuconfig options now.

Vonger
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: Cannot mount ext3 for mount points

Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:22 pm

Yes, I remove some drivers for better compatible.
If you want ext4 format you can compile follow my tutorials at vocore.io then select that ext4 in kernel. or download from openwrt that kmod-fs-ext4.ipk then force install it(not sure if it works, maybe crash the core)
But better to use vfat, it is good for all system, win, mac, linux even phone :)

GinDiamond
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:02 pm

Re: Cannot mount ext3 for mount points

Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:39 pm

Thanks, I'll try with ext4. I followed the tutorial and ended up with an image that doesn't have the VoCore wifi access point on by default, don't know what thats about.

kkert
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 9:09 pm

Re: Cannot mount ext3 for mount points

Sun Mar 24, 2019 9:13 pm

But better to use vfat, it is good for all system, win, mac, linux even phone


It's good for a lot of things, but if i'm trying to extend the internal storage beyond the 16MB by mounting sdcard, it's not a solution. Vfat does not support symlinks, and a lot of stuff just does not work very well without symlinks

Removing ext3/4 from precompiled kernel makes the system really limited.

Vonger
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:00 am

Re: Cannot mount ext3 for mount points

Mon Mar 25, 2019 3:42 am

link is a good usage, I will add it.
Also you can compile your own firmware by tutorial(github.com/vonger/vocore2), it is same as my compiled one.

Return to VoCore2/Lite/Ultimate

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests