Page 1 of 1

Vocore2 on openwrt 21.02 - no LAN

Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2022 11:55 pm
by docbee
I installed a self compiled stock openwrt 21.02 on my vocore2 and while it boots fine, I can't get it to connect to my lan as DHCP client and also does not connect when on a static IP.

/etc/config/network:
Code: Select all
config interface 'loopback'
   option ifname 'lo'
   option proto 'static'
   option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
   option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config interface 'lan'
   option type 'bridge'
   option proto 'dhcp'
   option ifname 'eth0'


ifconfig:
Code: Select all
br-lan    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr B8:D8:12:66:4A:71 
          inet6 addr: fe80::bad8:12ff:fe66:4a71/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2776 errors:0 dropped:7 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:167 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:286839 (280.1 KiB)  TX bytes:55466 (54.1 KiB)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr B8:D8:12:66:4A:71 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2956 errors:0 dropped:17 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:182 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:365557 (356.9 KiB)  TX bytes:58690 (57.3 KiB)
          Interrupt:5

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:672 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:672 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:48464 (47.3 KiB)  TX bytes:48464 (47.3 KiB)


When I disconnect and reconnect LAN cable dmesg shows:
Code: Select all
[  561.171266] rt3050-esw 10110000.esw: link changed 0x00
[  563.389584] rt3050-esw 10110000.esw: link changed 0x01


Any idea, why the openwrt 21.02 vocore build does not have the LAN working? Did anyone test this?

If someone has a working .config file for building the openwrt 21.02 for vocore2, this will certainly help me.

Re: Vocore2 on openwrt 21.02 - no LAN

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2022 12:05 am
by docbee
I solved my self, network file needs to reference "eth0.1" instead of "eth0":
Code: Select all
config interface 'loopback'
   option ifname 'lo'
   option proto 'static'
   option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
   option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config interface 'lan'
   option type 'bridge'
   option proto 'dhcp'
   option ifname 'eth0.1'

Re: Vocore2 on openwrt 21.02 - no LAN

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2022 1:13 am
by Vonger
ESW detected the cable plug in and unplug, so that part works.
I directly connect VoCore2 with my computer, able to get alloced IP. So I guess it might be default configure problem?

Re: Vocore2 on openwrt 21.02 - no LAN

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2022 1:14 am
by Vonger
docbee wrote:I solved my self, network file needs to reference "eth0.1" instead of "eth0":
Code: Select all
config interface 'loopback'
   option ifname 'lo'
   option proto 'static'
   option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
   option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config interface 'lan'
   option type 'bridge'
   option proto 'dhcp'
   option ifname 'eth0.1'


OK :)

Re: Vocore2 on openwrt 21.02 - no LAN

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2022 9:16 am
by docbee
Just out of curiosity, do you know why "eth0" was fine for openwrt 19 but needs to be "eth0.1" for openwrt 21?

Re: Vocore2 on openwrt 21.02 - no LAN

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2022 1:18 am
by Vonger
docbee wrote:Just out of curiosity, do you know why "eth0" was fine for openwrt 19 but needs to be "eth0.1" for openwrt 21?

eth0.1 as I know it is .1 virtual network of eth0